WHAT’S ON

2022-06-24T07:00:00.0000000Z

2022-06-24T07:00:00.0000000Z

NZME

https://communitynews.co.nz/article/281685438522425

WHAT’S ON

■ Until June 25: Under the Stars – A Matariki Exhibition. The Arts Village. Free entry. ■ Monday, June 20 - Sunday, August 7: A View from the Stars: Re-purposed Maps Exhibition. Rotorua Library. Open during library hours (Mon–fri 9am to 4pm, Sat and Sun 10am to 4pm). Free. ■ Monday, June 20 - Thursday, June 23: Matariki Fun for Children. For times and information go to Rotorua Nui website. Free. ■ Thursday, June 23: A Matariki Celebration. The Arts Village. 5.30pm to 8.30pm. Live music, free tamariki/ whānau art activities, Matariki learning. Free entry. ■ Friday, June 24: Matariki Civic Ceremony Rotorua. Sulphur Point, Hatupatu Drive. 5.30am to 7am. Free. ■ Monday, June 27 - Tuesday, November 1: A Tribute to Jean Batten by Jon Marett. Rotorua Lakes Council, Galleria. 8am to 5pm, weekdays. Free. ■ Friday, July 1: Matariki – Ride the Night. Redwoods Under The Sails, Longmile Rd, Whakarewarewa. 4.40pm to 7pm. Decorate your bike with fairy lights and glow-sticks, torches, flashing lights and reflectors. Free. ■ Saturday, July 2 - Sunday, July 3: Rotorua Speech & Drama Competitions. Distinction Rotorua Hotel & Conference Centre. Fenton St. Saturday, 8.30am to late; Sunday, 8.30am to 5pm; Prizegiving on Sunday at 6pm. Free. ■ Saturday, July 2: Slam Rock. Southern Trust Sportsdrome. 6pm to 8.30pm. Sulphur City Steam Rollers’ Motley Crew take on the Bay City Rollers from Napier for the 2022 Slam Rock title. Tickets at www. ticketmaster.co.nz. ■ Saturday, July 2: Yogathon. 10am to 11.30am. Rotorua Library. Free. To register email yogathon.nz@gmail. com and movewithmonzz@gmail. com. ■ Friday, July 8 - Sunday, July 10: Rotorua Home & Lifestyle Show. Energy Events Centre. Friday 10am to 5pm, Saturday 10am to 5pm, Sunday 10am to 4pm. Door sales $5 (kids U12 free) or get 2-for-1 tickets now on Grabone (deal ends July 7). ■ Sunday, July 10: Steam Day. Te Amorangi Trust Museum. 10am to 4pm. Eight working stationary steam engines in action, collections local history. $10-$15, free entry for children under 16. ■ Friday, July 15 - Saturday, July 16: Costumier’s Fantasy Masquerade Ball Weekend 2022. 8pm to 11.30pm. Millennium Hotel. 18+. Tickets at www.cnzwildadventures.com ■ Saturday, July 16: Costume Exhibit & Craft Market. Sudima Lake Rotorua. 10am to 3pm. Free entry. ■ Saturday, July 16: Ohomairangi Matariki Art & Fashion Show. 1138 Fenton St. 6.30pm to 9pm. Tickets at www.eventbrite.co.nz. ■ Friday, July 22: Funk and Soul Dance Night with Midnight Salt. Level 13 Theme Rooms and Bar. 8pm to 10pm. 18+. $10, book at events. humanitix.com/funk-and-souldance-night/tickets ■ Saturday, July 23: Great Forest Rogaine. Redwoods, Whakarewarewa Forest, Longmile Rd. 8am to 4pm. Enter at entero.co. nz ■ Saturday, July 23: Friends of the Library Book Sale. 2 Kuirau St. 9am to 1pm. Free entry. All funds raised go back to the library. ■ Thursday, July 18: Exhibition: A Piece of History. The Arts Village. Tuesday to Friday: 9am – 3.30pm, Saturdays: 10am – 2pm. Free. ■ Tuesday, July 26: NZ Mountain Film Festival National Tour. 7pm to 9.35pm. Harvest Church. Book at www.trybooking.com. ■ Saturday, August 6: Big Daddy’s Swing Guitar Spectacular. Level 13 Theme Rooms and Bar. 7pm to 10.30pm. 18+. Tickets at www. eventfinda.co.nz. ■ Saturday, August 20: Harcourts Dancing for Hospice. Energy Events Centre. Tickets go on sale end of June. ■ Wednesday, August 24 - Thursday, August 25: Junior Tough Guy and Gal Challenge. Lakes Ranch, Rotokawau Rd. 8.30am to 12.30pm. Enter at eventpromotions.co.nz ■ Saturday, August 27: Tough Guy and Gal Challenge. Lakes Ranch, Rotokawau Rd. 10am to 2pm. Enter at eventpromotions.co.nz ■ Saturday, August 27: Glow Lab Tough Gal Team Challenge. Lakes Ranch, Rotokawau Rd. 12pm to 2pm. Enter at eventpromotions.co.nz ■ Saturday, September 17: 2022 Rotorua Marathon. Government Gardens, Queens Drive. 8am to 5pm. Includes Full Marathon, Red Stag Timber off-road Half Marathon(21km), and Go Media 10km and 5.5km fun run. Enter at www.rotoruamarathon. co.nz. ■ Friday, September 30 - Sunday, October 2: 2022 Pickleball Rotorua Doubles Tournament. 28 Tarewa Place. Free entry to spectate.

en-nz