Kapiti News - 2021-06-09


Top lifesaving volunteers in arduous year


Dedicated volunteer surf lifeguards, coaches, instructors, and athletes have been celebrated at the Surf Life Saving NZ’s Capital Coast Awards of Excellence. The awards honour the volunteers who have devoted numerous hours to keeping our beaches and people safe and lifesaving sport athletes who have shone in competition. Volunteers from Surf Life Saving Clubs at Palmerston North, Riversdale, Foxton, Levin/Waitarere, O¯taki, Paeka¯ka¯riki, Titahi Bay, Maranui, Lyall Bay and Worser Bay make up the Capital Coast region. Central region sports manager Troy Greenem said the season had been the “penultimate test”. “We have dealt with the uncertainty of Covid-19, battled a summer that has had numerous ups and downs and now continue to navigate through the decreasing number of people volunteering in New Zealand.” Despite the challenges, Greenem is proud of his community of clubs and lifeguards, stating their resilience and selfless service are values that all other organisations should strive for. This season, the Capital Coast lifeguards completed 11 rescues, 8 searches, 47 first aid incidents, 20 patient assists and 26,299 people were involved in 3667 preventive actions. “As we are primarily a lifesaving entity, we come together to congratulate those who have gone above and beyond for the movement, such as Lifeguard and Surf Lifesaving Club of the year. “We also acknowledge our key volunteers as well honouring those who have provided numerous years of service.” Capital Coast Awards of Excellence 2021 Winners: U19 Lifeguard of the Year Mac Van Den Heuvel — Titahi Bay Surf Life Saving Club Lifeguard of the Year Callum McKenzie — Foxton Surf Life Saving Club Instructor of the Year Mike Taylor — Riversdale Surf Life Saving Club Sportsperson of the Year Neo-Tama Hargreaves — Maranui Surf Life Saving Club U19 Sportsperson of the Year Che Pulepule — Maranui Surf Lifesaving Club Sports Team of the Year Paeka¯ka¯riki Open Male IRB Team — Paekakariki Surf Life Saving Club Coach of the Year Rhys Speirs — Maranui Surf Lifesaving Club Surf Official of the Year Teri Anderson — Paekakariki Surf Life Saving Club Volunteer of the Year Jane Tiley — Riversdale Surf Life Saving Club Innovation of the Year Titahi Bay / Deborah Donkin — Titahi Bay Surf Life Saving Club


© PressReader. All rights reserved.