Hauraki-Coromandel Post - 2021-10-14


Birchwood tournament held after Covid delay


Nan Hoggard

Every year since 2010 the Saturday Ladies have organised the prestigious Birchwood tournament generously sponsored by Katikati’s Birchwood Packhouse Limited. In 2021 everything was finalised for the event scheduled for August 29 with a full field. But then there was Covid, lockdown and postponement. Undeterred by this, the committee forged ahead with another date and on Sunday, October 3 they ran the best tournament possible, with 27 teams of four in the field, and a laden sales table that caused much interest especially amongst those who did not feature in the prize list. The course was presented in top order, and the weather conditions calm, cloudy and mild, leaving every reason for each team of two men and two women to score well in the stableford competition. Team results: Winners: Pip Jones, Nigel Sanderson, Jill Morrison, Gary Choat 149 points. Runners-up: Desley Rosevear, Bryce Bevin, Sarah and Mark Tomsett 147; Susan, Ken, and Georgia Mustard, Aaron Seymour 146; Karen Lee, Rodger Bagshaw, Wendy and Mike Matutinovich 142; Susan and Mick Goodall, Rosalind and John Giffney 139; Jan and Brian Robinson, Rae and Peter Wright 137; Diane and Kerry Lewis, Diane Lockwood, John Purkis 136; Kristine and Francis Gascoigne, Mavis and Eddie Bruce 135; Niria and Terry Gerbich, Liz and Chris Hale 131; Phillipa Harvey , Gary Dunning Karen May, Mark Bryant 130; Nan Hoggard, Mark Mora, Agnes and John Han (Paraparaumu) 130; Diane Sweeney, Rodney Luxton, Debbie Ring, Colin Mcfarlane (Walton) 128. Individual stableford: Jill Morrison 47 points. Runners-up: Mike Matutinovich 43; Georgia Mustard, Desley Rosevear 42; Aaron Seymour, Phillipa Harvey 41; Brian Robinson 40; Nan Hoggard 38; Kristine Gascoigne, Mavis Bruce, Mark Tomsett, Nigel Sanderson, Graham O’dwyer, Diane Lockwood, Michelle Libby 37; Rodger Bagshaw, Rosalind Giffney, Terry Gerbich 6; Helen Baynes, Susan Goodall, Bryce Bevin, Jackie Robson, Wendy Matutinovich, John Han (Paraparaumu Beach), Robyn Kirby 35; Jan Robinson, Anke Hermannsdorfer, Debbie Ring (Walton), Richard Culleton, Ken Mustard, Kaylene Croker, Gary Choat 34; Craig Carrington (PGA New Zealand), John Purkis, Dianne Sweeney (Walton), Diane Lewis, Peter Bramble, Kerry Lewis, Gary Dunning, Rae Brown 33; Kathy Ashton, Rae Wright, Brian Roche, Eddie Bruce, Ken Purcell, Rodney Luxton (Walton), Andy Roche, john Saunders, Avon Gordon, Frances Nicol (Paeroa), Trudi Gatland, Niria Gerbich, Liz Hale 32; David Ashton, Jim Evans, Jenny O’dwyer, Pip Jones, Tim Parish, Peter Smith, Chris Hale, Peter Wright, David Croker, Grant Robson, Karen May, John Burns, Daryll Denyer, Jenny Tubman 31; John Drent, Alexandra Drent (Riverside), Ron Arthur, Dot Ramsey, Jeanette Culton, Mark Mora 30. Twos: Terry Gerbich, John Purkis, Gary Choat, Mick Goodall, Dianne Sweeney. Best local stableford over the field: Jill Morrison 47 points. Longest Drive — Women: Dianne Sweeney (Walton). Men: John Libby. Nearest the Pin — Women: Dianne Sweeney. Men: David Croker. Longest Putt on 18 — Women: Jackie Robson. Men: Terry Gerbich. —


© PressReader. All rights reserved.